Wolverhampton Speakers Club

Learn To Speak With Confidence

Site logo

WSC News 2016-17

WSC Speaking Contest

We held our annual Speaking Contest after the AGM on Monday 17th July.  The speaking standard was very high and the results were:

Winner - Peter Sinnott

Runner-up - James Whild

Annual General Meeting

We hereby give notice that the Annual General Meeting of Wolverhampton Speakers Club will be held at 7:45 p.m. on 17th July 2017 at the Goldthorn Hotel Wolverhampton.

Death of our Life Member

We report, with great sadness, the death of our Life Member Paul Spelman, who died on 15th January 2017 age 82.

Paul was a stalwart of our club for many years and we honoured him with Life Membership in 2007. Paul was an excellent speaker himself and also gave so much support and encouragement to our members while maintaining high standards.

Although he was not able to attend meetings recently Paul will be greatly missed and our thoughts are with his wife Lorraine.

English Speaking Union

Brian and Carolyn Micklethwaite were invited to judge an English Speaking Union speaking competition for schools at King Edwards School Edgbaston.  They also judged the regional final on January 23rd.


WSC have our own Facebook page that can be found via this link:


The page can be used to find out recent club updates and view up-to-date news regarding the club - why not 'Like' us today?

Bill Murray Cup

The Bill Murray Cup is named after a late well-loved member of Wolverhampton SC.  

The Cup is awarded each meeting by the General Evaluator or the Chairman to the member who has made the most significant contribution to the meeting.

The awards for the 2017-18 season are:
  • September 11th - Avtar Cheema

Awards for the 2016-17 season were:

  • July 3rd - Eileen Lowe
  • June 19th - Peter Sinnott
  • June 5th - Carl Gayle
  • May 22nd - Graham Harrison
  • May 8th - Avtar Cheema
  • April 24th - Mike Brownhill
  • April 3rd - Avtar Cheema
  • March 20th - Mick Tuohy
  • March 6th - Helen Winter
  • Fenruary 20th - Avtar Cheema
  • February 6th - Not awarded at this meeting
  • January 23rd - John McNally
  • January 9th - Graham Harrison
  • December 12th - Adam Bowen
  • November 28th - Jas Dosanjh
  • November 14th - Hilary Gittos
  • October 31st - Carolyn Micklethwaite
  • October 17th - Peter Sinnott
  • October 3rd - Maura Sherar and Carolyn Micklethwaite
  • September 19th - James Whild
  • September 5th - John McNally